Nuts about You! – Hazelnut Cheesecake (No-Bake)

IMG_0058
Yes, it says hazelnut, yes those are walnuts… read on ahead to learn why this sacrilege took place 🙂
IMG_0052
You can’t tell but it was a gorgeous summer rainy day when this picture was taken.

You won’t believe the number of recipes and accompanying pictures that are sitting in my hard drive, just waiting to be shared with the world – yes that’s you! I’m actually beyond embarrassed at how lazy I’ve been with updating the blog with a new recipe. But I make myself feel better that on the upside I have been busy with other work and Ghee Shakar Celebrations sometimes sucks the life out of me. I’m not complaining. I love it! Except the blog does tend to suffer. Then I see other amazing bloggers out there and I wonder… how?? How do you do it? Where do you maneuver the time out of your busy lives to take those AAAh-mazing pictures and post. Some of them have sooooper long intros before their recipes too by the way. (Yes, I too am guilty of that once in a while). I am envious of that kind of blogger drive.

Anyway, so my guilt has pushed me to bring a new concoction of yumminess to you. I think my other excuse is two of the main recipes I wanted to share are seasonal. Basically I sort of missed the boat, and the ingredients or the general feel of the recipes are out of season for now. Oh well. We’ll work something out.

So I had invited a very sweet friend who’s expecting her first child in a month (eee!!) over for tea, and she requested a Ghee Shakar treat (I love when people can be frank enough to say, I’m coming over day after tomorrow, please make me something yummy of yours)… I told her that too. After all, what’s better than a couple of girls chitchatting the evening away while, having chai and indulging in gastronomic gratifications?

This decadent, pleasing-to-the-taste buds recipe is really quite simple. It’s a hazelnut cheesecake, and I know I normally only trust baked cheesecakes because they come across as more fulfilling, but this one is a keeper. Especially because it really only takes like 25 minutes to prepare and the rest is just chilling (preferably overnight). Also it uses Nutella, which is one of my most FAVORITE inventions in the world (if you haven’t guessed that already), so it had to be done. I heard something about hazelnuts becoming more expensive or in short supply and I didn’t want to know anymore, because in cases like these ignorance is bliss. My only bummer on prepping this was that hazelnuts are not available here until the winters, so I had to improvise and where I wanted to top with hazelnuts I used a close best second, the walnut. I do plan on trying this again with hazelnuts in the winter and possibly updating the pictures then.

This recipe is inspired by one of my fave domestic divas, Nigella Lawson.

IMG_0059
Sorry about the bad lighting but had to include a picture of the star from our tea

Ingredients:

For the base
250 gms Digestive Biscuits  (I also used like half a small pack of Hazelnut wafers, like 6 wafers just to amp up the hazel-nuttiness of it)
1/3 cup/75 gms Butter
1 Tbsp Nutella
3 Tbsp Hazelnuts (or walnuts)

Filling
500 gms Cream Cheese – two packets of 250 gms (keep out of fridge for 10 minutes before using)
1 tsp Vanilla
350 gms Nutella (basically a small bottle)
1/4 cup/50 gms Confectioner’s sugar

Top with 100 gms/1 cup chopped nuts

Method:
1. Line a spring form baking tin with a greaseproof paper.
2. In a food processor, blitz the cookies, butter, nuts, Nutella until you get a wet sand like grainy texture.
3. Press the crumbs down in the pan and up the sides just half an inch. Put in the freezer to set while you make the filling.
4. In a large bowl, cream the cream cheese and add vanilla.
5. Scoop out the Nutella and combine in the cream cheese. Add sugar. Mix well.
6. Pull out the crumb crust and spread the hazelnut cream cheese mixture on top. Sprinkle coarsely chopped nuts on top for a lovely garnish.
7. Refrigerate at least 6 hours or preferably overnight. Serve chilled and store in the refrigerator for it to retain shape.

What a simple way to entertain, right?

Leave a Reply

