Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake with Oreo Crust – yes that is one dessert!

IMG_4173

IMG_4175

I’ve been on a break of sorts. Yes, I was still tinkering away on recipes in the kitchen but I need to filter what makes it to the blog and what doesn’t. I like to astound you with something special. Anyway, this cheesecake recipe post should definitely get the salivary glands running loose.

Forget EVERYTHING you know about traditional cheesecakes and try this piece of indulgence. I needed to merge my love for cheesecake, Oreos and chocolate chip cookie dough somewhere and this recipe seemed apt. I was excited to try this when I saw a similar version on someone else’s food blog, I’ve given it a few of my own alterations, like cut down on the original amount of sugar, because it can become a total sugar fest, and as I’ve mentioned before, I like to keep my sweet level balanced enough for me to enjoy an all encompassing taste without bouncing off the wall from the sugar high.

Let me warn you, this is a rich dessert. A small slice goes a long way, but it’s oh so worth it! It’s a little extra work because you prepare the (eggless) chocolate chip cookie dough as well, I had use every bit of my self control to not just eat it all out of the bowl! (I think I may know what’s going in my next (homemade) ice-cream project! (Sidenote: yes I will be posting a super easy ice cream post… YUMMY!)

IMG_4177
See how it reveals the chocolate chip cookie dough surprise?

IMG_4194
BONUS RECIPE: Make this without the cookie dough and with a solid Oreo base and regular cream cheese filling and just chocolate chips for a slightly less indulgent but equally tasty version. So basically I’m giving you two recipes in one post… You are Welcome!

IMG_4199

Ingredients:
Oreo Crust
24 Oreo cookies, crushed
3-4 Tbsp butter, melted

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1.3 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp vanilla
2 Tbsp milk, more if needed to bind, 1 tbsp at a time
3/4 cup chocolate chips

Cream Cheese Filling
3 tubs cream cheese (200gms/8 oz x 3) 600 gms/ 24 oz
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
4 large eggs
1 cup sour cream
3 tbsp flour
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Method:
1.    Preheat oven to 325F/150C (I highly suggest purchasing an oven thermometer to give you a better idea your oven’s temperature)
2.    For the crust: In a 10” spring form pan, mix the crushed Oreos (or other brand chocolate cookies) with the melted butter. Push down to set in the pan going a little up the sides.
3.    Bake this for 8-10 minutes. Remove and cool pan. Once it’s come to room temperature you can put the pan in the freezer while you are making the filling
4.    For the cookie dough: Cream butter and sugar, and add the milk and vanilla.
5.    Mix in flour, salt and chocolate chips. If needed, add more milk to bind, one tablespoon at a time.
6.    Roll in several balls (meatball sized). Place these on wax paper and place in the freezer to hold their shape.
7.    For the filling: Beat the cream cheese. Once soft, add sugar and combine well. Add eggs, one by one and keep beating. Now add in the vanilla, flour, sour cream and chocolate chips. Mix manually, but take care not to over mix.
8.    Pour half the filling on the prepared crust. Place the cookie balls all over the cheesecake. And cover them with the rest of the filling (make sure the cookies are not peeking out, as they will get over baked, become too hard and cause cracks- take it from my experience!)
9.    Bake for 1 hour or until the middle of the cheesecake jiggles when shaken. (Over baking will also cause cracks) Turn off the oven and prop open the oven door. Let it sit for another 30 minutes before removing.
10.    Cool completely, and refrigerate, preferably overnight or at least 6 hours.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. MARYAM says:

    LOVE CHEESE CAKES! Great job!

Leave a Reply

